There’s a history of people disliking the hobbies or others. For some reason if a person doesn’t like the interest of another it’s deemed stupid or weird. Such is the case of Pokemon Go. Pokemon is not a new phenomenon. Mobile games are not a new thing either. For some reason the two together is causing an uproar. Why? Because a shit ton of people are walking around catching Pokemon. It’s very obvious and it’s crazy the sheer number of people you can tell are playing. The world is bonding over a game and it’s amazing.

Togetherness

Pokemon is something I grew up with but never got into. It’s nice to have a chance and go back (sort of) and see what the deal is. I think it’s a silly game and I don’t quite understand what the big deal is but I have fun. I have fun making up my own names for these creatures. Sure, I can learn the lingo but it’s incredibly entertaining to watch the look on my husband’s face when I refer to a ‘mon as a “floppy fish” or “worm with horn” or when I tell him I need more “pigeons” so I can “upgrade” my dudes. I think he gets a kick out of it too. I know he likes sharing his knowledge with me and that makes us both happy. What the fuck is wrong with being happy?

I enjoy being with my husband but it annoys the shit out of me when we’re chilling in our fat pants (hell, or out to dinner) and he’s on his phone and I’m on mine. He’s playing some game and I’m checking email or whatever. When there’s a break in conversation it’s habitual to go for our phones. You can be connected to people all over the world via your phone, but not with the person sitting directly in front of you. Google “cell phone use hurting relationships” and you’ll get a bunch of articles about the topic. Cell phones, whether we want them to or not, have an affect on our relationships. Yes, Pokemon Go still involves a phone. Yes, Pokemon Go doesn’t really spark conversations. But we’re not sitting in silence. We’re interacting with a game but we’re doing it together.

I am an Adult

I see a lot of shit online about adults not because they “have responsibilities”. Guess what? So do I. I have a job, bills, chores, pets, and a house to take care of. You know what else? None of the bills are past due, the house is (mostly) clean, the pets are alive and happy, and my job is not affected. I’m a grown ass adult who also has responsibilities but just because I’m 30ish doesn’t mean I can’t have fun. I can do whatever the fuck I want with my free time and right now I choose you, Pikachu to play Pokemon Go.

You know that saying, “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”? That shit ain’t no joke. Working too hard will leave you fucking miserable, depressed, and possibly go crazy and try to kill your family. You need a balance of work and play. I know from experience so I (kind of) know what I’m talking about. Instead of just vegging on the couch and soaking up some TV rays, Pokemon Go is getting people out and about. I’ve seen a few articles already about how it’s helping people with depression. Great! My therapist told me to exercise and get outside (among other things) because both have a positive effect on mental health. Guess what this game does? Both. Of course, going out in this heat is God awful but dammit if I don’t want to catch that big ass crab-looking motherfucker somewhere around the neighborhood!

There is no invisible age cutoff that means you can’t enjoy pastimes, animated movies, theme parks, water parks, video games, or what the fuck ever. Shit, if anything being an adult means we’ve earned the right to enjoy these things even more because being an adult comes with a shit ton more responsibility than being a kid. It also has it perks.

Heeelllloooo!! Cake for dinner?

What’s the Point? AKA TL;DR

Who the fuck cares what anyone does as long as they’re not hurting anyone (or their self), not breaking the law, and are happy? I think sports are dumb but if that’s what you want to spend your time watching/doing, then go for it. Whatever rocks your socks.

